Homemade Handsoap review

So I am back! Here is a review of homemade liquid hand soap recipe that I found on The Farmer’s Nest http://www.thefarmersnest.com/2011/11/liquid-hand-soap-diy.html I will clarify that I was not able to find Mrs. Meyer’s bar soap, so I used Dr Bronner’s castille soap. I think that it turned out well! So here is goes the review:

Pros~ Easy to make; gets the job done for hand washing; makes a huge batch for the price!

Cons~ in using the Dr Bronner’s it seems to dry your hands out a little if you wash a lot (i.e. when in the kitchen I wash almost every 5-10 minutes); before you go to refill your soap dispenser, you need to shake it back up; it really does take a full 24 hours for the soap to sit up when make it.

Now I don’t see this as a con, but a word to the wise: the soap is not quite as thick as store-bought, but close enough for me. Had I been able to find Mrs. Meyers bar soap, it might have turned out differently. I made this soap about a month ago and I am using it in 2 bathrooms and the kitchen. So far we are doing well and have quite a bit left. I have bought a bar of french milled soap with Shea Butter in it to see if there is a difference with the next batch. If you like a more luxurious feeling soap I recommend going that route first using a soap that has shea butter or a natural lotion to it.

Results: 4 out of 5 vines!

One thought on “Homemade Handsoap review

  1. So I retried this recipe using triple milled french soap from Whole Foods (not much more $ than the Dr Bronners) and it turned out so much thicker! I don’t know if this is because it has shea butter in it, or because I used a better grade of the vegetable glycerin. My hubby really likes this most recent attempt, so I think we will stick with it!

Leave a Reply

