Homemade Dishwasher Detergent Review

Today I am doing what I hope is the first of many reviews. If you are like me, I love the idea of making my own cleaning supplies. Not only is it more natural, but it saves money on your budget. However I find it a little daunting when delving into the cyber world trying to find recipes to make things myself. You never know if  the recipe will actually work and if you are like me, I hate wasting time and money. So here I have tried a recipe from www.choosingsimplicty.blogspot.com for homemade liquid dishwasher soap. For the recipe click here http://choosingsimplicity.blogspot.com/2012/01/choosing-simplicity-homemade-liquid.html

I have to admit that I have nothing bad to say about this recipe. I’ve been using it for about a week and a half now with success. I can’t tell the difference between it and store bought dishwasher detergent. I’ve tried several recipes in the past, most of them a powder version. It didn’t get my dishes very clean and honestly left a gritty film on them. This one is the exception and I have not had a problem with that in my dishwasher.  Now the only tip that I can give is: if you have hard water add lemon juice and salt to the mixture. I got this helpful tip from my friend Michele at www.seriouslythatsmylife.blogspot.com .

I don’t have hard water, but I do have an older dishwasher and adding these 2 things really helps. I added several tablespoons of salt and the juice of 3 lemons. Now don’t you dare throw out those lemon rinds! They have powerful anti-bacterial properties that can be used for other cleaning projects. Later this week I hope to post a collection of recipes that will show you how to utilize the awesome power of lemons!

Leave a Reply

