Asian Noodle Soup

So my church is currently on the Daniel fast and everyone is trying to find recipes. I don’t typically do meatless meals as my body personally does not function well on that type of diet. I’ve been wracking my brain to figure out recipes that I can share. I don’t like recommending things that I have never tried, so now my goal is to adapt recipes that taste great to fit the need. Here is a take on my Asian Noodle soup that is Daniel Fast friendly 🙂 As you can tell the only changes that have been made is substituting the chicken stock for vegetable and omitting the chicken all together. You still get the great flavor, just slightly different 🙂

Ingredients:
1 Tb sesame oil
1 medium onion,diced
2 cloves of garlic, finely diced
6 c vegetable broth
1/2 c hoisin sauce
1/4 c soy sauce
crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground mustard
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp salt
16 oz frozen bag of asian vegetable medley (defrosted)
8 oz soba noodles (make sure they are made of wheat or rice)
3 green onions sliced thinly both white and green parts.

1. In a stock pot heat oil over medium heat. Add onion garlic cloves, cook until soft. About 5 minutes, stir as necessary.

2. Add the following : broth, hoisin, soy sauce, pinch of pepper flakes, coriander, mustard, ginger, pepper, and salt. Allow this to heat to a simmer.

3. Add vegetables, cooking until soft. About 8-10 minutes.

4. Allow soup to simmer until you are about 15 minutes away from serving. Bring soup to a boil, then add the soba noodles and cook for about 6-8 minutes or according to the package’s directions. Throw in green onions a few minutes before the noodles are cooked through.

* Salt and pepper can be adjusted to taste. If you desire more heat, just add more red pepper flakes. Enjoy!

** If you are allowing fish on the diet, you can add 1-2 TBSP of fish sauce to the recipe for more flavor, just taste before adding in the tsp of salt so that the soup doesn’t become too salty!

One thought on “Asian Noodle Soup

  1. I ate this reheated today…still just as good. Most of the noodles were eaten last night by hubby and kids (ha!) As I am gluten free (I used gfree hoisin and soy sauce) I really didn’t want to add more noodles. Tinkayada is good, but very expensive! I mean come on peeps it’s rice flour and water! Any way….I decided to try adding mung bean sprouts just before the soup came to a rolling boil. The result? The sprouts were al dente, which gave a nice touch and a wonderful nutty flavor! The kids didn’t even seem to notice there wasn’t really any noodles left in the soup! Hurrah for mung bean sprouts! Cheap and so much healthier!

Leave a Reply

