Simplify

Have you ever seen the commercial where the Dad comes home, looks around and sees everyone is off in their own world. Then he has a brilliant idea! He goes to the basement, flips the breaker box off, effectively shutting off the power. He goes outside and start-up the grill, and his son comes out and asks “Hey Dad what happened?” The Dad replies “Oh the power went out, want a hotdog?” The next scene is everyone sitting around an outdoor table eating, talking, and laughing. Then the boy notices something “Hey, why are the Johnson’s lights still on?” For an add it is an effective one, it portrays what everyone seems to want to achieve but has difficulty doing, quality family time. Not that the hotdogs can provide quality time, but the fact that the father took drastic measures to make it happen.

Now I am not going to go on about how our Heavenly Father does this, cause He does. He puts situations, and yes even allows disaster to occur, to draw us to Him. Think about the book of Job, he was a godly man, loved the Lord, yet God allowed him to be tested. But I digress….

A couple of weeks ago we had a service change done to our house. For those of you who are not familiar with it, they added more electrical capacity to our home. This winter (due to increasing prices) we will be switching from a gas furnace to an electric one. So we were without power for most of the afternoon. I was amazed with how much I was able to get accomplished and even still have free time with the kids! I was sweeping and mopping the floors, cleaning the kitchen, managed to cook lunch for 3 adults and 2 kids, and even picked beans. Then I spent quality time playing with the kids.

So it has got me thinking…..what is keeping me from being able to do this every day? Is it the pull of the tv, computer, or making complicated meals just because I can? What can I cut out to save time and even money? Or is it worth taking extra time to do things to save money, but somehow make it a family effort?

Since I haven’t been milling grain lately I decided to sell all my wheat and mill. That brought in a nice chuck of change in and freed up some space in the house. I’m looking into getting rid of more things, like an extra tv, switching out my high-end Dyson for an old-fashioned vacuum (non-electric kind). I also want to get a clothesline to let the sun dry our clothes ๐Ÿ™‚

What I have been told and I think I will find to be true is that ridding your self of material things is freeing. You will feel less burdened and have less to clean/maintain. The plus side?!? You won’t be as tempted (hopefully) to run out and purchase more stuff. Can you say more $$$ ๐Ÿ™‚

If you have money, live like you don’t save up that extra moolah for a rainy day or give to those that are in need. After all it is better to give than to receive. If you don’t have a lot of money, budget, budget, budget. Also remember you don’t need a lot of money to have fun. There are lots of places to go that are free and sometimes imagination is the best thing to create memories.

Leave a Reply

