On the Home Front

So I have been very busy lately…and I won’t lie, I don’t know when things will slow down. So please bear with my sporadic posts. My garden is in full swing! We have harvested the carrots, but most of them ended up woody and tough. I have gotten some tips on how to make the soil more conducive to growing them. So I will give it a go one more time, but probably not until the fall. I had my first picking of sugar snap peas this weekend. Which I promptly blanched and froze. As there were so many little ones that will be ready in a few more days (plus many more blossoms) it just made sense. I also did the same with my lovely summer squash as well, and of course it wouldn’t be that time of year without me burning myself while draining the squash! My dear hubby insists that I purchase oven mitts that go up to my elbows since this seems to happen every year 🙂 Next on my agenda it to grate, steam, and freeze zucchini…..hmmm I can already taste the zucchini bread I will be enjoying this winter!! Also the cucumbers are coming in like crazy 🙂 I am excited to make relish and try out a few new pickle recipes as well.

We have been enjoying the lettuce from the garden, eating more salads than normal. It makes for a happy belly and wallet 🙂 The kale is plentiful and I find myself craving this yummy leafy green. There are so many recipes out there to make use of this wonderful veggie, but I have so much of it that I need to start freezing it as well 🙂 The tomato plants are turning out better than I hoped. I can wait until the tomatoes get big enough to ripen. I can almost taste the sauce and salsa that they will make.

On the homeschool front, we have finally found a reading program that works for Vivian. Of all things it is Hooked on Phonics. Who knew?!?! I was able to get all 5 levels on Amazon for under $70. Once I teach her to use the cassette portion on our stereo system she will be able to do everything herself and I can just oversee it 🙂

On a more personal level God has been really stretching me out of my comfort zone. I am heading up a MOPS group at our church this fall. MOPS in Mothers of Preschoolers and it is a wonderful program for mothers of infants to ages 5/6. My problem….asking for help. Not that I don’t want it, I do! It’s the asking part, mainly out of fear of rejection. But God is doing amazing things!!! We need at least 1-2 more Moppet volunteers to help with the amount of children we anticipate on having. However we can use as many as possible because the more volunteers we have means the more children, and the more mothers. It’s the 1st Thursday morning of every month from September to May for a few hours. Even if you know you can commit to every month we can fit you into the schedule or use you as a back up! It is a wonderful way to reach moms in that critical time of their life and help support them. The children’s program has become my passion, as God is really teaching me in this. But that it another blog post for when I have time….I’ll share what God has been working in my heart about that subject. It probably won’t get posted until I can do it without ranting but out of love 🙂 So if you would be willing to help out please contact me. Also we are chartering this week, so hopefully we will be able to take registration by the end of the week. If you are interested in joining let me know as well so that I can get a registration form to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

