Way to Save on Produce

There are farmer’s markets all over the place if you just look. They are fairly easy to find, I can name about 4 around where I live. While these are great resources, unless you go at the end of the day, the savings (if any) are minimal. I would like to introduce the concept of a CSA. There are different kinds of CSA’s. My friend belongs to one where she pays a fee to be in it, and then depending on what is in season (and the amount of produce) she receives a portion of what is being harvested. One of the local farms that I go to has CSA, where you pay a fee, but then also must put in so many volunteer hours per season. They have a pickup every week where you come get your share of veggies. This CSA fills up quickly as it is a great way to get veggies for a low price (and they are organic)! In fact when I enquired they told me they have about a 2 year waiting list. Thankfully they offer another alternative that you can do volunteer hours during the week(ends) and in exchange receive produce as well. I would love to share their information with you, however it seems their website is currently down. If you would like more information let me know and I’ll be happy to share. If you aren’t in the Ohio area, stop by my links to check out Local Harvest, they are a great resource to help you find CSA’s where you live. Hope you find this helpful!

Leave a Reply

