Homemade Butter

In my quest to lower the frequency of trips to the grocery store, I ordered heavy cream from my milk share. I finally braved it this week and made homemade butter. The results are amazing, and with very little effort on my part. I’ve been told that you can make butter in a food processor, but I don’t have one. So I turned to my work-horse (Kitchen Aid stand mixer) to help out. Voila! 25 minutes later I had raw butter! Now I have been told that if you make Piima cream or Creme Fraiche that you can turn that (using the same principles) into cultured butter and the left over milk is buttermilk! The simplicity of things never cease to amaze me πŸ™‚

Ingredients:
1 quart heavy cream
cheese cloth

1. Place half of cream into a stand mixer and using the whisk beater, turn on to a medium speed. Checking occasionally, scrape down the bowl as necessary. Mix for about 20-25 minutes.

2. Using a slotted spoon, remove butter from the mixer and place into cheese cloth. Squeeze gently to remove any excess milk, and then place butter in desired storage container.

The cream will first turn into whip cream (as shown above) and then get heavier until it turns back to a liquid (as shown below).

When it starts to look like the nursery rhyme about curds and whey, you know you are in the home stretch!

Butter!!

Save and use the leftover milk like you would in any recipe that calls for milk. Put the rest of the cream into the bowl and start the process all over πŸ™‚

This is shared as a part of pennywise platter with the Nourshing Gourmet.
http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2011/02/pennywise-platter-thursday-224.html#more-3875

2 thoughts on “Homemade Butter

  1. I make my own raw butter too. Except I use my food processor and its much faster! πŸ™‚
    I put in very cold raw cream and in about 3 minutes I have butter. πŸ™‚

    • Michele, I wish I did have a food processor! I had one about a year ago, but I used to to help make dinners at church almost every week. I think I wore the motor out on it. I really need to save up to buy another one, they are handy little machines πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

