The beginning

Every story has a beginning, and mine is no different. This story is about how I came to be obsessed with organic foods and products. Now I’m not perfect, I still enjoy eating out (although most restaurants are holding little appeal to me). Sometimes I still grab the unhealthy pre-packaged food out of desperation and lack of time. I’ve come to notice though, that these things no longer taste very good, how could I have possibly liked this stuff? I’ll tell you it’s because I’ve tasted real food! Somewhere along the way we as a society have been taught to like inferior food, that it actually tastes better than the real stuff! How is that possible? We have allowed ourselves to be duped! Our busy lifestyles have taken over and we have been told that unless we are constantly on the go there is something wrong with us. Well there is something wrong with us, that we won’t take the time to enjoy the taste of homemade bread, that we would rather open a can of soup than make it completely from scratch! Americans don’t have a love affair with food! They have a love affair with junk!! I have slowly been coming to this conclusion, and I am ready to make the amputation! It will be slow and painful, but you have to take your time and stay of course if you are going to do it correctly 🙂

It started over 3 years ago…

I was in my parents home (the one I currently live in now) getting their mail while they were out-of-town. I needed to use the bathroom, and I didn’t worry about Vivian running around the house because all the doors were closed. As I was in the bathroom, Vivi began pounding on all the doors crying “Mimi! Mimi!” she was sobbing, looking for my mom. She didn’t understand she wasn’t there. Then it hit me and I began to cry “God, she won’t be here much longer?!? How am I to explain to Vivi? She’s still so little?” I knew in my heart that I was going to lose my mom, but not when or how. She had developed a bad respiratory infection in the late spring, and never seemed to fully recover from it.

Before thanksgiving Mom went to the doctor thinking that she had a kidney infection, but the doctor said it sounded more like gall stones. He sent her to have an ultrasound done, and that’s when it happened. The ultrasound tech found an unusual mass in her. They sent the pictures to the doctor asking him to look at it right away. The news came back that it was cancer. The weekend after Thanksgiving I stayed away from her since Vivi had pink eye. That following week I was speaking to mom on the phone and she confided that her urine had turned orange. I looked it up on the governments cancer website and learned her liver wasn’t functioning properly. I still went to the same doctor that she did, so I immediately called him, and kept calling until I could get a hold of someone. I could tell they believed the same thing I did and told me to have her come in right away. I have never seen someone look so yellow…..

They made an emergency surgery to place stints in her bile ducts as the tumors had gotten so big that it was closing them off. This was the beginning of a short, but painful battle. She under went radiation, which helped shrink the tumors, and gave her a brief respite from the pain. Yet the stints that had been put in became infected and she was in and out of the hospital several times. The infection was not coming under control, and so chemo was not an option. Finally she had enough and went into at home hospice. On January 22nd 2008 she went home to be with Jesus.

Needing an answer as to why and how I began research. I learned that 80% of cancers today are environmentally caused. To me that seemed to high a number and I wanted answers as to how this could be possible. It was then that I started my quest to learn more about healthy eating, and to understand how choices we make affect our bodies. Choices that seem innocent, from the soap we use to wash ourselves, the makeup we wear, the cleaning products that we use, and the food we eat. To me the price to pay for organic foods and safe products is insignificant compared to the precious lives of your loved ones. I hope that this story sparks an interest in you to learn more and become more conscious of the decisions you make. If you’ve ever lost someone to cancer, my heart goes out to you, I understand how painful it is to watch someone you love suffer and die from such a terrible disease.

To give God the glory HE deserves, He was with me the entire way. He was my rock to lean on in that dark time. It was definitely a time of growing in Him. Learning to trust is never easy, but praise God for “Great is Thy [His] faithfulness, morning by morning new mercies I see. All I have needed Thy [His] hand has provided.” He helped me explain to my daughter, who was 2 days away from turning 2 years-old. While I miss her I am sure of my mom’s salvation and mine. So I am not without hope, I know I will see her one day again!

Leave a Reply

